USB001 printer port missing

yovas, Aug 21, 9:14am
USB001 printer port missing -- I am trying to install a HPC7280 printer. For some reason my USB001 printer port has disappeared.

Does anyone know if and how I can reinstall it or find it?

Thanks.

kiwis, Aug 21, 9:20am
Have you tried re-installing the software? Remove old software programme first and if that fails go back to a restore point when it was working.....

yovas, Aug 21, 9:22am
I'm a novice at this .. where do I reinstall from - Microsoft Office disk?

kiwis, Aug 21, 9:23am
Did your HP printer come with a disc

yovas, Aug 21, 9:25am
Yes it did but I have had major problems in trying to install the printer. I cannot get it to print from the computer. There seems to be a problem where the computer or printer does not recognise the USB "device" when I plug it in.

kiwis, Aug 21, 9:29am
Go to Control Panel then click on Printers/Faxes icon and open that up. Then right click your HP Printer and set as Default Printer, see if that works.

olack, Aug 21, 9:30am
You may need to connect the printer to the PC...then install the printer software. If you do not have the printer software on a CD then you will be able to download an install it from the computer manufacturer's website...looking at HPC7280 printer is telling me the printer is a Hewlett Packard printer model number.

olack, Aug 21, 9:31am
Just do what kiwis tells you, I may confuse you ...

kiwis, Aug 21, 9:35am
Lol olack my advice would probably confuse the best of us!

yovas, Aug 21, 9:47am
Thank you for your advice. I have tried both ways and no luck! I get part way through the installation and then when I am prompted to connect the usb and power, nothing happens.

yovas, Aug 21, 9:47am
I have tried to do a system restore and I am now getting a message that it cannot restore to the point where I requested. Any other hints??

olack, Aug 21, 10:49am