Domain name/hosting

For a complete novice and I truely mean novice, only just bought laptop. Who would be best and cheap to hook up with to run a simple website from, easy access for me to make changes and to ad link from other site. Am making one on mac.

geek_tanya170, Aug 4, 9:27 pm

What kind of site?

geek_dunedin_ree, Aug 4, 9:32 pm

Site with some photos and info for holiday home

geek_tanya170, Aug 4, 9:34 pm

I'd suggest google apps. Getting the DNS set up and recognised can be a bit tricky but once it's set up it's really easy to update the website, create new mailboxes, etc.

geek_little_egypt, Aug 4, 9:41 pm

Being a self proclaimed novice, you will definitely need good hosting support. Would recommend you don't go for the cheapest, as they probably won't help you with support for your software, as they will only cover hosting related issues. You should check with them first to see the level of support they offer. You will also probably need one with WebDav, if you are using Mac, or you will need on with good support on Macs and FTP.

geek_mattnzw, Aug 4, 10:21 pm

Being on a Mac is completely irrelevant if you use software that your host provides to make a website with.

Wordpress can be used to very quickly and easily make a decent-looking site with photos.

All you need is an FTP client (and only for very occassional use).

I use Dreamhost: there are others.

geek_dunedin_ree, Aug 4, 10:23 pm

google apps FTW, , I spent ages trying to workout Ubuntu server with email server , dam never could get it, , , , GApps took me less than 20min to figure, , was so pissed it was like that as I never had heard of it LOL

geek_flewy, Aug 4, 10:27 pm

They are probably going to make their website in iWeb, or whatever apple calls it, as I have seen so many people with macs setup iweb websites. Using that, you need WebDav, or you need to host it with Apple. You can use FTP too, but it is more difficult.

geek_mattnzw, Aug 4, 10:28 pm