Why wont my tv pick up my usb device? (sony)

my sony tv wont pick up my external harddrive is there a setting I need to change?

geek_bananabear, Feb 6, 2:20 pm

Check the TV manual. It might need to be formatted in a specific way (eg FAT vs NTFS).

geek_dunedin_ree, Feb 6, 2:21 pm

Yeah is probably something format related.

Panasonics i know only support FAT32, samsung and LG supportboth FAT32 and NTFS.

I dont know about Sony

geek_directorylist, Feb 6, 2:25 pm

have checked the manual and they refer to the sony website and they state all the sony usb devices that are compatible but my external hardrive isnt a sony 1 im a novice in this sorta stuff so dont really know what im doing lol

geek_bananabear, Feb 6, 2:26 pm

TV model?

geek_ross1970, Feb 6, 2:27 pm

sony bravia model no.kDL-40E400

geek_bananabear, Feb 6, 2:32 pm

Quick search of the interwebs seems to indicate that sony dont support NTFS, with a model number it could be confirmed.

No Highdef off the USB for you :(

geek_directorylist, Feb 6, 2:32 pm

oh damn but a friends external harddrive worked?

geek_bananabear, Feb 6, 2:37 pm

Yeah it was probably formatted with FAT32, which is fine but you cant have files over 4GB (i.e. any 720p or above movie)

I just found the software upgrade instructions

Step 3 Format a compatible USB storage device the FAT32 file system and connect it to your computer.

So it would appear it only supports FAT32

geek_directorylist, Feb 6, 2:39 pm

Probably because it was formatted in FAT32.

You need to check what format the drive is, and re-format it.This involves wiping all the data off it.

geek_dunedin_ree, Feb 6, 2:40 pm

yeah well if it doesn't support ntfs then your mates hd was formated differently..fat32 ??

geek_ross1970, Feb 6, 2:40 pm

geek_directorylist, Feb 6, 2:40 pm

but should the tv pick up that there is a device plugged in its not picking up that its plugged into the tv

geek_bananabear, Feb 6, 2:42 pm