Good websites for business!

samceleste, Sep 19, 12:52am
Hi everyone, I'm hoping some of you may be able to help with ideas for a good website to use for my small business.

I'm looking for something relatively easy to use
and cheap (or even free!)
with reasonable storage for photos of products & info

thanks in advance :)

velenski, Sep 19, 12:56am
joomla is free

deej5, Sep 19, 1:08am
I use Sandvox. Doesn't cost the earth and is so easy to use. As an artist I needed something to display lots of photos and easy to publish immediately after changes. It's a mac app though. You can download a free trial here:
http://www.karelia.com/sandvox/

plumbernick, Sep 19, 2:00am
Free and business are not really a good mix.

However there are a lot of good platforms out there.

Wordpress, Joomla themes could create a simple site with a little bit of knowledge and research for beginners.

If the website is E-commerce then something like Shopify may suit. Think there is a similar service by a NZ company, can't remember what it is called though.

If you need help to build one to your needs then try Zealance.

The trouble is that if it is for a business website then you need to make sure it gives the visitor a good impression. If the website looks cheap or doesn't work properly then people will just click away and potential sales are lost. Depends what you want the website to do really but Wordpress could be well suited if you don't need anything too complex.

lostdude, Sep 19, 2:22am
Yeah wordpress is easy to manage. Especially if you want to update and upload pics yourself. Wordpress itself is free but if you want a good looking site, there are some paid templates that you can choose from that'll really impress visitors. There are some good free ones but not near the quality of paid. Here's an example of a paid Wordpress template that will be suitable for a photographer: