Media Centre PC

We have not gone to freeview yet for various reasons.Mainly that we have a hard disk recorder which means we can record one programme while watching another, chase play etc.

To get similar functionality with freeview we'd need a PVR which cost heaps.

So I am thinking I could build a media centre pc to do this.I have no experience in this area so I'm just wondering what I'll need to build this beast.

Obviously a TV tuner card, video card.What else.XMBC! etc

geek__sms_, Nov 5, 5:04 pm

Windows media centre works quite well. You can buy cheap USB tv tuners that work well from dealextreme. You will need more than one if you want to record one and watch another, but you can probably buy dual tuners too. If you have already got a PC, you can set it up on that first to see how well it works.

geek_mattnzw, Nov 5, 5:45 pm

I've just started thinking about doing the same thing and I stumbled across this:
http://digitalnow.com.au/product_pages/Quad.html
I need to do a little more research to see if it'll work here.

geek_meathead_timaru, Nov 5, 6:25 pm

Windows Media Centre is part of Win 8 is it not.Will this do timer recording etc!

geek__sms_, Nov 5, 6:54 pm

I have freeview setup on Windows 7, I use both satellite and uhf. Its not too hard to set up. The only issue is getting the guide through uhf, it needs a bit of work (satellite guide is fine).

geek_macnamara, Nov 5, 7:12 pm

What would be a good dual tuner card!

geek__sms_, Nov 5, 7:14 pm

geekzone.co.nz forums have some good info.

geek_macnamara, Nov 5, 9:23 pm

Cheers.I'll look into it.

geek__sms_, Nov 5, 11:00 pm

You will pick up a tivo box cheaper than building an MCPC. Obviously less functionality.

geek_pyro_sniper2002, Nov 5, 11:32 pm

Yeah I was looking at a Tivo as an option and they're pretty cool but I recon I could put a cheap PC together for much less and more functionality and fun!

Unless I can convince Telecom to give me one as I heard some people have done ;)