Gmail problem.any help appreciated

We have a new Apple desktop, and are getting more confident in its use. My problem is my e-mail, hubby thinks it has a virus, its going really slow, and wont play any attachments that I receive. He suggests canceling the email address and starting a new one, wld that help! any ideas greatly appreciated before I have to pay someone to come & fix it!

geek_sako243, Dec 8, 2:12 pm

How about assuming its an email client problem and maybe do a google. And the email client is!

geek_spyware, Dec 8, 2:36 pm

Email doesn't have viruses, computers do.
What is slow, connecting! Downloading it! Reading it online!

geek_lythande1, Dec 8, 3:42 pm

thankyou.its slow when I initially log on, also when I click on an email to read.it says " loading", sometimes takes 30 secs to open, also cant play any attachments with are movies (sent as emails) I'm not an expert on this so appreciate any advice. This is a new Apple desktop, 4 mths old. The rest of the computer is fine. My email is gmail.

geek_sako243, Dec 8, 5:45 pm

What browser are you using!Safari! Try another browser,Mozilla for MAC.
You may have a Safari plugin issue. IS internet browsing operating generally ok otherwise,i.e surfing trade me ,google searching ,youtube!

geek_chikky11, Dec 8, 6:13 pm

Using Gmail via webmail (browser)! What browser are you using!Safari! Try another browser,Mozilla for MAC.
You may have a Safari plugin issue. IS internet browsing operating generally ok otherwise,i.e surfing trade me ,google searching ,youtube!

geek_chikky11, Dec 8, 6:13 pm

gmail operate email servers. You provide no indication of what email client you use to read these gmail served emails, whether a web browser or Mail, Outlook or Entourage.

Sending a movie as an attachment would certainly result in slow performance. maybe tell us what size these attachments are!

geek_spyware, Dec 8, 6:48 pm