Myob vs Xero or other

Thanks gj for your very informative comments, and summery of MYOB and Quickbooks
Very helpful I will look into the quickbooks as well ??¶ and good idea, I will discuss with my accountant before I commit
I have also found that you can do an inventory system with invoicit and that Xero has add ons that will do inventory.
And thanks for the comments, I find it is good to have a number of opinions, on different products weaknesses and strengths, and one can decide what suits their own particular needs

geek_ravenhawk, Jan 2, 11:33 pm

I've been using Quickbooks for that last 12 years. Mostly its very good. Some of their support is a bit 'meh' though.
I was angry when they didn't support the GST change on the 2009/10 version of their Quickbooks but eventually worked out a way to do it without having to buy an upgrade.

geek_cameragod, Jan 3, 8:30 am

I'd say quickbooks or myob (non hosted).Have used both, prefer quickbooks.I believe you can download a demo of both versions.So might be an idea to give them a try for yourself and see which one feels right for you.End of the day, different packages suit different peoples way of thinking and doing things.

geek_r-tech, Jan 3, 8:34 am

Just to reinforce what gj said. The reporting aspect of MYOB is poor and inflexible. There will be useful reports and analyses you haven't even thought of yet if your business is new. Go for the reporting capability of quickbooks

geek_bwg11, Jan 4, 4:26 pm

Once again thanks for comments, and while I totally appreciate the value of reporting, one of my priorities is inventory as it is so time consuming keeping it up to date.

geek_ravenhawk, Jan 5, 11:33 am

If you want full inventory functionality download Quickbooks Small Business for a free trial - http://www.quicken.co.nz/QuickBooks/smallbusiness.asp
If you need payroll as well you could try QB Professional or use a separate payroll like ACE Payroll.

geek_gj, Jan 5, 11:43 am