Need upgrading from Jellybean OS to Kitkat

3638, Oct 18, 2:54am
HI there, I have a class lot of Samsung Galaxy Tablets that are operating on Jellybean 4.2.2 OS. I need to upgrade them to Kitkat 4.4 in order to run a programme that we intend to sign up to. They do not automatically update and it doesn't seem possible through 'Kies' as according to Kies 4.2.2 is the only option. Does anybody have any ideas to help. Would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance 'Ever Hopeful Teacher'

wayne416, Oct 18, 4:38am
Its quite technical to update a phone/tablet if manufacturer has not supplied an update. Since your a teacher perhaps a fellow teacher or student could help/ advise. Whats the program as 4.4.2 is still a viable system although getting a bit long in the tooth now.

3638, Oct 18, 5:27am
Hey Wayne, I'm a primary school teacher so most of us are tech phobic haha. Students bit too young but have my 15yr old looking into it. The programme is Mathletics. They were running on 4.2 but updated to 4.4 just before the holidays. Wee bit frustrating haha.
Thanks for your reply, feel free to give me 'technical' instructions, I'm a quick learner :)

suicidemonkey, Oct 18, 5:42am
It's very technical and I wouldn't recommend it unless you know what you're doing as it is possible to do damage to your device.

Instructions depends on your device. Your best bet is to Google for tutorials. Rooting the device is the first step then you'll need to flash the KitKat ROM. It takes a lot of research and time, and from experience I wouldn't recommend it.

nice_lady, Oct 18, 5:45am
you could easily end up with a pile of unrecoverable 'bricks'. That's to say permanently unfixable, broken, unusable devices.

wayne416, Oct 18, 5:49am

nice_lady, Oct 18, 5:50am
the exact model of tablet would be helpful if you want someone to assist you.

wayne416, Oct 18, 6:12am