Price of desktop with/out windows

What should be the price difference for a desktop with and without windows?

Also apart from a faster processor and more ram is there something else I might consider? Mostly I just use it for browsing and sketchup but I see there are things like movies over the internet. I have no experience of that.

geek_jh34, Jun 11, 9:27 am

Looks like $139, to me. Assuming it is a new computer.
http://pricespy.co.nz/#rparams=ss=windows

If it is an old computer than can only handle Windows XP, then no price difference.

geek_r.g.nixon, Jun 11, 9:31 am

If you are buying a computer without windows, you will need another operating system before you can do anything with it. There are cheaper and even free operating systems, but they all require some degree of reconfiguring, and may not run the software that you are use to on a windows machine, That said, the difference in price should be somewhere around the cost of the windows licence.

Watching video over the internet (streaming) does have very high hareware requirements, but given that we don't know the specifications of your cunnet computer, we can't really say what (if anything) you need to upgrade. Apart from the hardware the single biggest factor for streaming video is the speed of you internet connection, and whether you have limits on the amount of data you can download each month.

geek_cafc2012, Jun 11, 10:00 am

At present I'm running Ubuntu and I have a 1G processor and 1.5 GB ram which is just on the limit for the latest ubuntu releases.
[ description: CPU
product: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3200+
vendor: Hynix Semiconductor (Hyundai Electronics)
physical id: 4
bus info: cpu@0
version: 15.15.0
slot: Socket 939
size: 1GHz
capacity: 3GHz
width: 64 bits
clock: 200MHz ]
I happened to find two prices for 3G processor with 4 GB ram which were the same except one came with windows and one didn't: