Why wont my printer work anymore?

marilynmonroe, Sep 30, 12:04pm
Ive been using an Epson stylus c59 on my computer for about 7 yrs and replacing the ink with a compatible ink for years .Now the printer keeps saying one of the inks is low and yet Ive just replaced them.I have inks for Africa and im going nuts.Even reinstalled the drivers.Help please.

hakatere1, Sep 30, 4:20pm
Try new original set. New chips etc, may find new ones make a change. Or try http://www.fixyourownprinter.com/

lythande1, Sep 30, 5:35pm
Print head could be the fault. Do a clean on it, and if it continues, it's probably needing a new print head.

nice_lady, Sep 30, 6:07pm
New "official" ink or a new print head would cost more than a new printer

nzdoug, Sep 30, 6:09pm
Printers are cheap.
Might be time to upgrade.

wenpen, Sep 30, 6:39pm
Same printer for seven years, that's epic.

skin1235, Sep 30, 7:28pm
do they have a page count, it may have exceeded that, check google to see if there is a method to reset the counter

-bookzone-, Sep 30, 8:15pm
I have had that 'low ink after installation' alert happen, and I think it was to do with the ink cartridge being stored upside down, which made the cartridge appear almost empty. Making sure they were stored the right way up for at least 5 days before installing them seemed to fix this problem.

Not really sure if this *was* the cause, but you're meant to store them the right way up - according to what i found on Google. Oddly, the Epson cartridges are upside down in the packet you buy them in, which means they spend most of their time that way, so I don't know why Epson are doing the opposite of what's recommended!

marilynmonroe, Sep 30, 9:44pm
Ok thanks for the messages ill plug the printer back in now and see what dosn;t happen. Will also go to fixyourownprinter.com.

marilynmonroe, Sep 30, 9:47pm