Faulty Motherboard

I'm using an Asus Sabertooth X58 motherboard and it has been giving me problems with startup.Well I isolated that it was not the PSU (bought a new one)The problem is sometimes the computer does not power up.Usually during cold times,I do not know why.
I just updated the bios and it started powering up fine for a week then back to the usual.Do you know it is the BIOs chip that could be faulty?

geek_nesta129, Jul 17, 12:04 am

you could try a new CMOS battery. It's unlikely to be the problem, but could be.

geek_schizoid, Jul 17, 12:10 am

memtest the ram if you haven't already

geek_lucky.gadgets, Jul 17, 2:24 am

Google contains all the solutions and a learning curve. Disconnect all cables and leave for 24 hours, even one week allowing every scrap of power to disipate out of the capacitors. trick number 1.

geek_olack, Jul 17, 5:40 am

Thanks guys. sorry for the late reply but couldn't get on due to you know what!
I am a newbie at this stuff so ill google the memory testing the ram.These boards have problems working with 4gb ram,according to what I have read.
Have never seen that on google ever regarding any boards Olack.Seen the putting the board in the oven one though.But I shall do what you said.I'll buy a computer for the time being till this gets sorted.

geek_nesta129, Jul 18, 6:05 pm

I might have been fooling myself then. I have bought a few newer model faulty motherboards and simply replaced the onboard battery to have late model motherboard as a cheap upgrade for me. The installed batterys were not flat by any means but I believe the change in the power flow made the difference that made the motherboards work.

geek_olack, Aug 3, 4:31 pm

how old? i have to solder a few caps on one of my old pc one day to resurect it hopfully
putting the board in the oven dont helps caps that only helps kill them most are 105° max rated and to reflow solder you need much higher tems

geek_intrade, Aug 3, 5:51 pm