Excel experts.?

christin, Feb 1, 10:11pm
I'm far from an expert so wondering if someone can help.

I have a spreadsheet that is used by multiple people. What is does is scan a barcode with a scanner each time something leaves. It is used to track time and date of when it's left,

It takes this full barcode and puts it in the left hand column. It then splits out the last eight characters and put into the second column. And I'm the third column it puts the current date and time.

Each scan is with a return so each time the above is done, it then goes to the next row, first column.

What is happening is often the cursor is moved accidentally (busy desk, people not checking before scanning). Is there any way of making it stay in the first column as the stripping and date don't work unless it's in there, and keeps it tidy.

Sorry for the novel, hopefully that's enough info. ?

I will play with it tomorrow but was hoping a step in the right direction. Did the above so have basic knowledge so hopefully :-)

Thanks!

christin, Feb 1, 10:13pm
We did have a wireless keyboard and mouse turned off to stop accidental, but it still managed to move and once it was moved the next entries,would follow in the wrong column until corrected.

Oh and someone stole the mouse so that's now wired!

nice_lady, Feb 2, 6:16am

gyrogearloose, Feb 2, 7:42am
You'd have more control over the interface if you migrated the code from Excel to Access

floydbloke, Feb 2, 7:46am
This may require some fairly heavy-duty VBA to start automatically moving the cursor
May be a 'quick-and-dirty' would be to look at turning protection on and locking all cells except the first column.

christin, Feb 2, 8:01am
tried locking the cells, from memory it stopped other stuff working.

it was a while ago i did the spreadsheet but thats the first thing i tried and rmemeber having issues ;-( ill have another look today and see what i got stuck on .

nice_lady, Feb 2, 8:10am